Year of the Horse

On January 31st 2014 we enter the Chinese year of the Horse. The horse is an auspicious sign for all of us but for me especially. I grew up with ponies and horses and have always felt happiest with horses nearby. Although I love living in Amsterdam, more contact with the natural world and in particular with horses is something I yearn for.

This year, the theatre production, War Horse is finally coming to Amsterdam! Firstly, the original English production will be simulcast at Tuschinski on 27th Feb and then for the Holland Festival the Dutch production will run throughout the summer at Carré. I’ve got my tickets already for both events! I saw the production in London and it was the most moving piece of theatre I have ever seen. It’s amazing how quickly one suspends disbelief and the puppets become real horses, living and breathing on stage. Visceral in its immediacy, emotional without being sentimental and especially poignant this year during the commemoration of 100 years since the outbreak of World War I.

To celebrate wonderful equine friends and family, I want to share a favourite poem with you. It conjures up cosy evenings spent with my family in the seventies, watching the Horse of the Year Show. Each year during the closing ceremony, a horse would stride out into the spotlight of Wembley arena, stand still and the audience would hush. The mellifluous tones of the late, great Dorian Williams would recite this ode by Ronald Duncan,

The Horse

Where in this wide world can man find nobility without pride,
friendship without envy, or beauty without vanity?
Here where grace is laced with muscle and strength by gentleness confined.

He serves without servility; he has fought without enmity.
There is nothing so powerful, nothing less violent;
there is nothing so quick, nothing more patient.

England’s past has been borne on his back.
All our history is in his industry.
We are his heirs;
He is our inheritance.

© the Ronald Duncan Literary Foundation

My sister, Christine Hardinge on Crown Derby

My sister, Christine Hardinge on Crown Derby

About susancarey

Writer, teacher and occasional belly dancer living in Amsterdam.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Year of the Horse

  1. Sherri says:

    We saw War Horse in London two years ago, it was magical and absolutely incredible. How wonderful that you get to see it again in Amsterdam :-)

  2. susancarey says:

    Yes, Sherri, I’m delighted. I hope the Dutch puppeteers are just as good as the ones in the UK! It will be interesting to see how it translates into Dutch as well.

  3. nessafrance says:

    I haven’t seen Warhorse but have heard a lot about it. I hope you enjoy it in Amsterdam.

  4. susancarey says:

    Thanks, Vanessa me too. The live streaming on 27th Feb is worldwide so it might be somewhere near you, it really is worth making a special journey to see it!

Leave a Reply

